Your Cart
10 reviews

Jurassic Dark (a Starship Teapot short) ebook

On Sale
$0.99
Pay what you want:
$
Added to cart
review
Find out why BookRiot included this series in their list of 10 Cozy Sci-Fi Books to Give You Hope for the Future.

There’s something in the dark … but is Lem’s imagination worse than reality?


Out in the vast emptiness of the galaxy, anything can happen. It’s a fact that Lem and her trusty companion Spock know all too well.

Sometimes, the things lurking in the darkness are all in your head. Then again, maybe there really is something out there.

With a dog of few words and an infuriatingly literal AI by her side, Lem must rely on nothing but her strength and wits to help her.

As a humorous homage to Arthur C Clarke’s classic A Walk in the Dark, this short adventure is a not-actually-scary sci-fi horror story that’s perfect for fans of Martha Wells and John Scalzi.



This story is also available as a free audiobook. Why not download both for that immersive reading experience?
You will get a TXT (356B) file

How will my book be delivered?

audiobooks

Files will be delivered by BookFunnel. You will receive an audiobook you can listen to in either the BookFunnel app or in your browser. Alternatively, you can download the MP3s to listen to them in the app of your choosing.

ebooks

Files will be delivered by BookFunnel. You will receive your choice of epub (suitable for most ereaders or devices), mobi (for Kindle), or PDF files (for reading in your browser).

paperbacks

Your book will be delivered direct from the printer, Bookvault. Shipping is free for customers in the UK and the US only. If your country doesn't come up as an option, please get in touch with me (info @ whitehartfiction.co.uk) and I'll see what I can sort out.

Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Toni

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Jurassic Dark

One woman on a mission to get to the closest town to get a communication out on posts they need. Unfortunately before she left she has listened to a campfire story. Now the info she heard is playing with her mind. Her dog, Spock, is her link to sanity it whatever sanity is.
Loved it!

Penney P.

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Funny

These books are hilarious

Robert K.

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

An intriguing, rambling monolog with interjections .....

This short story snippet of an ongoing series is intriguing, rambling, descriptive, and reminiscent of Old Time Radio "horror stories" that I used to listen to. The self-reflective buildup, the self-questioning, the self-induced terror, then the complete crumbling of the self-imposed premise and return to reality, all brings a tale to completion. Loved the anticipation and setting. Loved "Spock" and wish I had a "Spock" of my own!
Makes me want to read the entire series.

ChrisA

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Interesting

I found this book well written and quite interesting.

'

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Jurassic Dark (a Starship Teapot short)

/

HelenZ

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Love the crew of Starship Teapot!

I love the characters of the Starship Teapot. In this short story, Lem and Spock must walk down a long, dark, narrow road to get to a ride before it leaves without them. With spooky stories fresh in Lem's mind, this is a very scary walk, thankfully Spock is there to make sure they get there safely.

Martin

Verified Buyer

1 year ago

book review

A good light read

Jan O.

Verified Buyer

1 year ago

It was a dark and stormy night

I am not a big fan of ghost stories around the campfire. Still a fun read with my favorite characters. Just not my favourite of their stories. Great for those who don't spook easily, though.

RD

Verified Buyer

1 year ago

Fun (and not too scary) story snack

Not having read "A Walk in the Dark," I can't comment on the spoofiness of this story, but it was a nice opportunity to reconnect with Lem and Spock (truly the bestest girl!) and Holly - who is equally exasperating and cracking me up.

Marion

Verified Buyer

11 months ago

Weird but entertaining

Story line was a bit strange, didn't know what was going on. But found it compulsive as well.