Home     Books     About     Contact     Why?     Links     Blog

SI CLARKE (she/her) – Author of neurodiverse, culturally diverse, gender-bendy, drunken-arguments-in-the-pub science fiction. Not bang-bang-pew-pew science fiction.

The Left Hand of Dog

RELATED LINKS

Editing by: Lucy York, Nicholas Taylor, and Hannah McCall

Cover illustration by: Tom Edwards

Interior illustration by: Ricardo Mossini

Escaping intergalactic kidnappers has never been quite so ridiculous

When Lem and her faithful dog, Spock, retreat from the city for a few days of hiking in Algonquin Park, the last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by aliens. No, scratch that. The last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by a bunch of strangely adorable intergalactic bounty hunters aboard a ship called the Teapot

Falling in with an unlikely group of allies – including a talking horse, a sarcastic robot, an overly anxious giant parrot, and a cloud of sentient glitter gas – Lem and the gang must devise a cunning plan to escape their captors and make it back home safely.

But things won’t be as easy as they first seem. Lost in deep space and running out of fuel, this chaotic crew are faced with the daunting task of navigating an alien planet, breaking into a space station, and discovering the real reason they’re all there…

Packed with preposterous scenarios, quirky characters, and oodles of humour,The Left Hand of Dog tackles complex subjects such as gender, the need to belong, and the importance of honest communication. Perfect for fans of Charlie Jane Anders’ Victories Greater than Death – especially ones who enjoy endless references to Red Dwarf, Star Trek, and Doctor Who. This book will show you that the universe is a very strange place indeed.

REVIEWS

A deeply heartfelt story… Clarke understands the peculiar magic that is addressing a serious topic without taking oneself seriously in the process, and wields wit and wordplay with enviable skill. Pratchett and Adams fans, take note. Tyler Hayes, author of The Imaginary Corpse

Fans of these other spec-fic authors may also enjoy this series: Charlie Jane Anders, Becky Chambers, Robert Rankin, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Lindsay Buroker, Jim C Hines, John Scalzi, John Wilker, Ethan Freckleton, J.R. Frontera, Matthew Metzger, Kaia Sønderby, Gareth Powell, Robert J Sawyer, Corinne Duyvis, Mary Robinette Kowal, Mike Chen, TJ Berry, P. Djèlí Clark, Charles Stross

File under keywords: science fiction, sci-fi, quirky characters, misfit characters, British, bumbling hero, strong female characters, transgender characters, agender characters, asexual, found family, outsiders, Canadian, dogs in fiction, geek, nerd, dork, fictional pubs, humour, humorous, sarcastic, queer, space opera, alien abduction