This is, by a very long shot, the most ridiculous book I've ever read – and I loved it!

Hannah, Goodreads user

The Left Hand of Dog

Starship Teapot #1
The Left Hand of Dog by SI CLARKE

If you buy direct from me, you can get 20% off with the coupon code ‘WEBSITE’.

Word count: 51,900
Page count: 206
Find it on Goodreads or Readerly

Escaping intergalactic kidnappers has never been quite so ridiculous.

When Lem and her faithful dog, Spock, retreat from the city for a few days of hiking in Algonquin Park, the last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by aliens. No, scratch that. The last thing they expect is to be kidnapped by a bunch of strangely adorable intergalactic bounty hunters aboard a ship called the Teapot

Falling in with an unlikely group of allies – including a talking horse, a sarcastic robot, an overly anxious giant parrot, and a cloud of sentient glitter gas – Lem and the gang must devise a cunning plan to escape their captors and make it back home safely.

But things won’t be as easy as they first seem. Lost in deep space and running out of fuel, this chaotic crew are faced with the daunting task of navigating an alien planet, breaking into a space station, and discovering the real reason they’re all there…

Packed with preposterous scenarios, quirky characters, and oodles of humour,The Left Hand of Dog tackles complex subjects such as gender, the need to belong, and the importance of honest communication. Perfect for fans of Charlie Jane Anders’ Victories Greater than Death – especially ones who enjoy endless references to Red Dwarf, Star Trek, and Doctor Who. This book will show you that the universe is a very strange place indeed.

Real-world science
Silliness rating
Hopefulness
Talking dog
Gender-bendiness
Neuodivergence rep
ADHD

A deeply heartfelt story… Clarke understands the peculiar magic that is addressing a serious topic without taking oneself seriously in the process, and wields wit and wordplay with enviable skill. Pratchett and Adams fans, take note.

Developmental editing by

Lucy York of Lucy Rose York

Copy-editing by

Nicholas Taylor of Just Write Right 

Proofreading by

Hannah McCall of Black Cat Editorial Services

Cover illustration by

Interior illustration by

A chaotic, high-speed whirlwind of a love letter to the space opera [genre].

Ray Donnelly, Goodreads user

Fans of these other spec-fic authors may also enjoy this series: Charlie Jane Anders, Becky Chambers, Robert Rankin, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Lindsay Buroker, Jim C Hines, John Scalzi, John Wilker, Ethan Freckleton, J.R. Frontera, Matthew Metzger, Kaia Sønderby, Gareth Powell, Robert J Sawyer, Corinne Duyvis, Mary Robinette Kowal, Mike Chen, TJ Berry, P. Djèlí Clark, Charles Stross

File under keywords: science fiction, sci-fi, quirky characters, misfit characters, British, bumbling hero, strong female characters, transgender characters, agender characters, asexual, found family, outsiders, Canadian, dogs in fiction, geek, nerd, dork, fictional pubs, humour, humorous, sarcastic, queer, space opera, alien abduction

Print edition ISBN 978-1-9162878-5-3

ebook edition ISBN 978-1-9162878-6-0