I was invested from the first sentence and found it increasingly hard to put this down.

Maureen, Goodreads user

Livid Skies

White Hart series, #2
Livid Skies by SI CLARKE

If you buy direct from me, you can get 20% off with the coupon code ‘WEBSITE’.

Word count: 82,600
Page count: 334
Find it on Goodreads or Readerly

A fresh start, a queer social liberal dream, and a planet that wants to kill you.

Carving out a life on Mars is no easy feat. With Earth in the throes of a devastating pandemic, autistic scientist Devon and her fellow colonists are faced with the momentous task of establishing a new society – one that learns from the past and prioritises sustainability over short-term gain.

Noble aspirations are easier said than done, though – especially when the entire planet wants to kill you. Grappling with the realities of human nature and with their batteries slowly dying, the colony’s 150 women and 10 men must overcome their differences to create a lasting community.

But things aren’t always what they seem and maybe the colonists aren’t as alone as they thought…

Perfect for fans of Mary Robinette Kowal’s Lady Astronaut series and the writing styles of Robert J. Sawyer and Becky Chambers. This thought-provoking sci-fi novel blends classic science fiction ideas with neurodiverse and LGBTQIA+ themes.

Real-world science
Silliness rating
Hopefulness rating
Gender-bendiness
Neuodivergence rep
Autism

This beautifully queer civilisation on Mars was absolutely delightful to read.

Amanda, Bookish Brews

Editorial assessment by

Michelle Meade of Michelle Meade Reads

Copy-editing by

Lucy York of Lucy Rose York

Proofreading by

Hannah McCall of Black Cat Editorial Services

Cover design by

Rejenne Pavon of Rejenne

Illustrations by

To view the map and building illustrations, click the relevant image

map
ground floor units
upper units

I absolutely love this novel and highly recommend it to any lover of sci-fi, especially if you’re looking for some new, diverse characters!

Sonja, Goodreads user

Fans of these other spec-fic authors may also enjoy this series: Gareth Powell, Robert J Sawyer, Becky Chambers, Charlie Jane Anders, Lindsay Buroker, John Scalzi, John Wilker, Matthew Metzger, Kaia Sønderby, Corinne Duyvis, Mary Robinette Kowal, Dave Walsh, Mike Chen, P. Djèlí Clark, Charles Stross, Laura Lam, Elizabeth May, Temi Oh

File under: fully automated luxury gay space communism, hard science fiction, feminist sci-fi, quirky characters, misfit characters, Canadian, British, strong female characters, lesbian characters, asexual, autistic characters, found family, outsiders, London, Scotland, near-future, impending disaster, queer fiction, Mars colony, fledgling colony, pandemic fiction, post-traumatic stress in fiction, fictional pubs, dogs in fiction

Print ISBN 978-1-9162878-2-2

E-book ISBN 978-1-9162878-3-9