Home     Books     About     Contact     Why?     Links     Blog

Tall(ish) Tales from the White Hart – NEURODIVERSE, CULTURALLY DIVERSE, GENDER-BENDY, DRUNKEN-ARGUMENTS-IN-THE-PUB SCIENCE FICTION. NOT BANG-BANG-PEW-PEW SCIENCE FICTION.

Livid Skies

A fresh start, a queer social liberal dream, and a planet that wants to kill you.

Carving out a life on Mars is no easy feat. With Earth in the throes of a devastating pandemic, autistic scientist Devon and her fellow colonists are faced with the momentous task of establishing a new society – one that learns from the past and prioritises sustainability over short-term gain.

Noble aspirations are easier said than done, though – especially when the entire planet wants to kill you. Grappling with the realities of human nature and with their batteries slowly dying, the colony’s 150 women and 10 men must overcome their differences to create a lasting community.

But things aren’t always what they seem and maybe the colonists aren’t as alone as they thought…

Perfect for fans of Mary Robinette Kowal’s ‘Lady Astronaut’ series and the writing styles of Robert J. Sawyer and Becky Chambers. This thought-provoking sci-fi novel blends classic science fiction ideas with neurodiverse and LGBTQIA+ themes.

REVIEWS

‘This beautifully queer civilisation on Mars was absolutely delightful to read.’ Lady Amanda, Goodreads user

‘An engrossing and enjoyable read.’ Melinda Fierro, Goodreads user

‘A wonderful blend of characters, cultures, and beliefs give a modern take to the classic scientific dream – colonising Mars.’ Max Watson, author of Chains of Nurture

RELATED LINKS

Get the Paperback

Please consider buying from an indie bookseller. Ask them to order ISBN 978-1-9162878-2-2. Support your local bookshop.

Get the
Ebook

Buy direct from me here. Get 20% off the list price with the coupon code ‘BestCustomer’.

Alternatively, Books2Read will take you to the ebook seller of your choice. Until Amazon pays their fair share of taxes and treats their workers with basic human decency, please buy from them only if none of the other options are available to you.

Cover design

The cover for Livid Skies was designed by Rejenne Pavon.

Illustrations

Map and building illustrations were created by Sasha Fedorova.

Editorial

Editing and proofreading of this book were done by Michelle Meade, Lucy Rose York, and Hannah McCall.